Additional security for Facebook using Login Approvals
Facebook has added an additional feature to increase the security of user logins by introducing what they call “Login Approvals“.
So how does Login Approvals work? First of all the authentication system is opt-in, meaning you have to enable it to be able to use it. You can enable Login Approvals from the Account Security section of the Account Settings page.
Login Approvals is basically requires you to enter a code that is sent to your mobile phone via a text message when you log into Facebook from a new or unrecognized computer. Once you have entered this security code, you’ll have the option to save the device to your account so that you don’t see this challenge on future logins.
If a login attempt is made from any unrecognized device or web browser, you are notified upon your successful login about the attempted access. This give you the alert that someone has tried to access your account and failed. You can then take certain actions like changing your password to a new one in order to make it more secure.
Now what happens if you enabled Login Approvals and you lost your phone?
If you ever lose or forget your phone and have login approvals turned on, you will still have the option to authorize your login provided you are accessing your account from a saved device. Having these recognized machines associated with your account prevents lockout and ensures that you can regain access to your profile.
This feature is not actually a new concept. Google has been using two-factor authentication in their Google Apps infrastructure for quite a while. Given that there are more than 500 million users of Facebook, Login Approvals help users get more security via Facebook’s implementation of a partial two-factor system.
Gerry Ilagan is into mobile apps and WordPress development at @speeqs. He loves to write about electronics, the Internet of Things, mobile phones, and #crazyideas.